Home beckons.

Hello September! Just a heads up, I believe my upcoming posts will all revolve around my new home, so skip right through if this ain’t your thing. I’m sorry I keep talking about it because it’s such a huge chapter (and a lot of money) in my life.

So I will be getting the keys near the end this month and from now and in between, I’ve been busy with engaging a contractor to do up the house. At first, I set a budget of S$30k because I thought I only needed to do up mainly the kitchen and two toilets. Well, I thought wrong. There’s apparently many things that I want to do hahaha.

Here in Singapore, because many of the workers and construction work are outsourced to Malaysians, therefore there’s been a major shortage of manpower because of covid restrictions. I contacted at least six to eight companies and only TWO replied. But I did have very good vibes and communication with one of them, so at least I don’t feel like I’m forced to choose or settle.

So here’s the thing. The first quotation came up to a whopping S$76k. Nearly fell off the chair for real when it was first presented to me. Sis ain’t got that kind of money. After removing many aesthetics wants, I whittled them down to mostly function and needs, and it’s still S$49k. This does not include rewiring the house, fixtures, appliances and furniture. So it will be safe to say that I will be extremely poor after this whole thing.

But since I’m so deep into this, I just have to bite the bullet and power through. This should be a very happy occasion. I must be positive about it.

Oh and if I remember, I’ll post a video or at least some photos of me rolling a pineapple into the house the day I collect my keys! In case you’re curious, pineapple sounds like “fortune awaits” in one of our dialects here. So many chinese (more of a superstition thing with our race) homeowners will actually roll a pineapple into their new home while shouting “HUAT AH!” (prosper!) hahaha… It’s so kitsch and ridiculous-sounding as I’m typing this out but hey, better to be a believer and have the good things come my way, no?

xoxoxoxo.

2 thoughts on “Home beckons.

Leave a comment