We are what we are. 

Happy Labour Day from my side of the world! Yabadabadoooooo to the long weekend! I’ve had such a fruitful week leading up to this three-day weekend. The company had our annual kick-off where strategies, focus and targets for FY2017 were rolled out. We had a Rock ‘N’ Roll themed dinner where awards for deserving people were given out, and as usual, I drank way more than I should hahahaha. I reminded myself not to scare my new colleagues, but the alcohol made me do it. Sorry the pictures are so dark, I was lazy to edit them lol. And can we all take a minute to admire the beauty of my new boss (in the middle picture). It’s terrible of me to be saying such lusty things but from the very first time my eyes clapped on him, I was like helloooooo!, and very promptly almost fell off my chair in awe and impure thoughts. I know. Like I said, très terrible. So before I get fired or arrested, let’s quickly move on. We had our team building activity on Wednesday at one of those escape the room thingy. I was a tad worried I might appear to be a complete bimbo but I did much better than I expected. Creative minds are useful too. And our team won woohoo! (And let’s have another look at him shall we lol. 😍😍😍)Omg so tall! Ok stop stop Sabrina. 

Moving on…. Went to do one of my favourite things two consecutive days- Watching musicals! It is a fairly costly hobby, but the joy that it brings me is priceless. And also, support local haha. Tropicana is about a nightclub/cabaret that opened in 1968 in Singapore and they were well-known for being forerunners in the industry, and also famous for staging topless revues- something really radical for its time. It was great, because it gave me a glimpse of the glory of its heyday and I cannot help but feel a little jealous that I wasn’t able to partake in this only because I hadn’t been born yet. It’s ok. I’m lucky I have wild imagination. Today’s musical is so special to me. Five years ago, when Wild Rice (the theatre production company) first staged the localised version of La Cage aux Folles, I went with a group of friends not knowing what to expect from a musical because I’d never been to one. Little would I know that it not only opened my eyes and mind, but a whole new world of theatre to me. Since then, I’ve been diligently catching different genres of plays, musicals and pantomimes and loving each one, some more than others. So when I found out they’d be restaging La Cage, I bought tickets immediately after they were released. 

If the first time opened my eyes, then the second did wonders for me. I had a huge smile plastered on my face the entire duration, eyes soaking in every colour, every detail, every facial expression of the performers. Oh and I also teared three times because omg, so touching. Now it may sound silly but I really feel like buying tickets to one more show. It really is that good! Also, first time all us siblings are catching a show together!My heart is so full, and I feel that my life is complete at the mo. 🙆🏻🙆🏻🙆🏻

xoxoxoxo. 

One thought on “We are what we are. 

  1. My mom calls me her expensive child because I am always convincing her to take me to see musicals. Yes they are expensive, but musicals bring me a lot of joy. They are a wonderful mix of spectacle, dance, and song. They have this enormous emotional capability, which is more than I ever imagined it would be. Musicals are this escapism and they have the emotional advantage of plays because the songs make it easy to emotionally connect to characters and plot

Leave a Reply

