Things I never thought I’d say.

“I’ll never stop drinking”. Famous last words. Alcohol has been such a big part of my life and I truly love it so much. So much so that I thought it would be the one constant in my life.

Not sure when it all started, but it crept up on me slowly for sure. First, I stopped going out every weekend (because my friends started getting married and popping children- party poopers!) and our drunken weekends slowly but surely diminished. Then one of Drunk Boys got attached and his girlfriend didn’t like us for no good reason. Then, work and the general responsibility of life took over our lives and we just didn’t have the luxury of time.

I still drink in copious amounts, but the frequency of outings have decreased significantly. Then the kicker came. The sad remainder of us Drunk Boys duo met up for dinner and drinks and we were discussing K’s upcoming birthday. Immediately, we ruled out the clubs with loud music, and instead settled for a place where we could be seated. We used to pooh-pooh seats and drank and danced. All night long. Then K requested that we celebrate his birthday on a Friday because he now needs at least two days of recovery time after a wild night out. We used to meet at least two to three times a week for drinks after work then a liver-bashing session on a weekend. Sometimes both weekends.

It dawned on me that we are no longer the spring chickens that I thought we would always be. I agree that it now takes longer for me to wash out the ill effects of drinking after a night of heavy drinking. In fact, I sometimes dread going out two nights in a row and feel sick even just thinking of drinking.

Therefore it probably will not come across as a surprise to me (and you) if I announce one day that I’m retiring from the world of booze. Oh, the horrors.

xoxoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

