Happiness for some, sorrow for others.

This evening, while I was minding my own business, my mum started rustling around and sat beside me and started unwrapping stuff. Then, with a huge secret-ish kind of smile on her face, she proudly showed me her latest acquisition.

image

For the benefit of the people not living in this part of the world, this is a tea set used in Chinese weddings during the tea ceremony. Basically the bride and groom has to serve tea to their elders and they receive gifts (from money to jewellery) in return. The words on this set means double happiness and is synonymous with almost, if not all Chinese-style weddings.

Back to mother. She happily proclaimed “Mei (younger sister), you can use this when you get married in future.” She was beaming all the way I tell ya.

I felt a tad guilty at that moment because you know how I feel about marriage. She probably said it in jest but at that moment she really looked like she was looking forward to the day she gets to drink tea from it.

My first reaction was filled with suspicions of course. “Why did you buy it? Where did you buy it? Why do you need this now? No one’s getting married.” Long story short, she got it for free and decided to take it because it’s pretty.

Now I have to give my parents credit for never pressuring their children to settle down though in the context of how societal norms go, their eldest two daughters are how do I put it….. Almost way past marriageable age. But no one said anything about us having to conform, right?

I think I made a joke about the tea set never seeing the light of day again and mum laughed too. But as she was carefully putting them away, I heard her lamenting to herself in a soft voice (but apparently not soft enough because I heard every freaking word loud and clear) “I love the printed words, so pretty. I especially love the plate, so pretty. Don’t you agree they’re pretty?”

Gotcha, mama. I heard you loud and clear the first time round. But I’m afraid you’ll have a couple of spinsters on your hands. However the damage has been done. I feel mildly guilt-ridden that my parents may never get to feel the joy of marrying off their daughters. Well, looking at how things are going, not for the next 20 years at least.

I’m sorry for bursting your bubble so close to Mother’s Day. Now, sisters and brother, it’s time to share the pressure of this responsibility.

xoxoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

