Redemption of karma points in 2013.

Happy New Year just about a couple of days late! Even though 2013 ended on a really shitty note for me, I have to admit that it was a pretty good year all in all.

I’m never one for making new year resolutions because they’re just a bunch of horse shit. If I set my mind to do something, I can do it any time of the year. So there.

I do have a handful of things to be thankful about, and I just hope that I have accumulated enough karma to let them roll into 2014.

Health.
After my last tearful post, it is still a wait-and-see approach with regards to my lungs. My QuantiFERON test results came back positive. While that means I have the TB bacteria lurking in me, we can’t tell for sure if it’s an infection, or I have the latent disease. Doctor is suggesting that I start medication for two months and get another x-ray done to see if the node shrank. Otherwise, he’s strongly for getting that biopsy done.

On a happier note, I had my routine appointment with my endocrinologist. My thyroid levels are still stable, and my HbA1c levels has fina-fucking-lly reached the acceptable range of 7.0%!!!! (For those not in the know, I’m a Type 1 diabetic who also has Hyper Thyroidism) I’ve been struggling to bring down those levels for years and it really just came as a surprise to me.

And oh yes. I’m a walking medical time bomb. Say what you want to about me being dramatic and yada yada how I’m much better than many people who are suffering worse fates than me yada yada, but you’re not me. And I happen to think that having a non-threatening illness is about the worst kind of punishment one can have. So there.

Family.
I’m very thankful for my family even though they annoy me constantly and I’m sorry I’m snappish more often than not. But truly, they are the only people who never judge me and silently offer me support because you know, we’re not the kind of people who declare our love for each other. I’ve tried, but they either shudder or don’t allow me to profess my love verbally. But it’s ok. I LOVE YOU ALL VERY MUCH (because I know they won’t be reading this)!!! Thank you for putting up with my madness and tempers.

Friends.
I don’t have that many friends to be honest. Other than the group of girls who are technically my sister’s friends, mine come in smaller groups. That is if you allow me to count singular folks as a “group”. Nonetheless, whether they are big or small, I’m grateful that these people want to be friends with me. Every small gesture, every sarcastic comment I appreciate. Not that they are mean, but that’s just the way our dynamics are. And through my recent health care, I have to say I don’t know what I did to deserve such love and concern, but keep it coming guys.

X.
I know. I know. I can see people up in arms over why X gets a special mention on his own. Other than the fact that I like him, I have to take a moment to thank him for being a pillar of moral support in recent times. Yes you all know he cooks for me blah blah and has also friend-zoned me, but I have to give him a round of applause still.

The smiles he puts on my face, the concern he has shown, the encouragement and support that he gives, the ability to tolerate and partake in my madness, the lame jokes he unknowingly makes…. Is all very important to me. He now knows I like him (I mean he friend-zoned me right?), but I cannot rule out the possibility of the impossible.

He makes me mad, yes but he can also make me blush (in a non-sexual way). Did I also mention how he manages to make me laugh all the time? *sigh*

My job.
Very very blessed to land the “job of my dreams” after years of hankering after it. The job of a pharma sales rep is not rocket science, but it still gives me joy. And to have wonderful bosses and lovely colleagues just tops the icing on the cake. Of course there are people I dislike and decisions I don’t always agree with, but we can’t have it all.

So there you have it as I promised. The handful (count them- 1 2 3 4 5) of things I’m thankful for that happened in 2013 and I hope will roll over to this year.

In the hope of gathering even more karma points, I wish that all of you (and your family and friends and cats and dogs) will have many many more things to be grateful for and happy about this year. If we cannot have world peace, the least we could have is to be happy.

xoxoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

