Another year over- What have you done?

Happy New Year, all and sundry! We didn’t die in 2012, let’s all live beyond 2013.

For the first time in my 28 years of life, I spent NYE alone. Without family, friends or special friends. I don’t know why. I just wanted to be alone.

Honestly, 2012 was a great year for me and I’m very grateful for that. But I suddenly feel very empty and lonely. Maybe solitude does that to you. Especially when you see the influx of lovey-dovey-go-get-a-room-already outpouring of affection and PDA on all forms of social media.

Fairly depressing for a single person. It’s a good thing I never entertained suicidal thoughts. Well, to look on the brighter side of things, at least some of us (definitely not me) are getting some tonight. Lucky bitches.

I’m excited yet afraid of what this new year will bring me. When too many good things happen to me, I get anxious and wonder when my streak will break, just so I can finally heave a sigh of relief. I must have emerged top in the School of Cynicism.

I never thought I would say this (out of the gabazillion other things I never thought I would say), but I miss having a partner. I enjoy and cherish singlehood very much, but wouldn’t it be nice to have a hand to hold, a shoulder to cry on, an occasional punching bag, a person to share your joys and woes with, a sounding board, and most of all- the guilt-free sex?

Wouldn’t that be nice. Some chocolates wouldn’t hurt too. Happy New Year.

xoxoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

