Hearts are broken tonight.

My bestie is broken-hearted. For the first time in the eight years I’ve known her, she called me crying. As in sobbing cry. I’m shocked of course. This friend is better known as Xena, warrior princess in her other life.

And I feel terrible because I suck at comforting people. I never know the right things to say. And I didn’t want to say silly things like “don’t cry”, “time will heal all wounds” and other patronising nonsense like that.

So I did what I know best- saying ridiculous things to make her laugh. Is there a course out there to teach you to say empathetic stuff to comfort people? I need to sign up pronto.

Bff, I hope you feel better soon. I may not know the right things to say, but my heart, shoulders and liver are always here for you. Good night all you broken hearts. And to heart-breakers- goodbye and fuck off already. Don’t hurt these people more than you already have.

xoxoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

